

CONTACT Scott Johnson **Executive Secretary** Iowa FFA Association scott.iohnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Starmont FFA Wins Iowa FFA Farm Management CDE

The Starmont FFA Chapter from Arlington was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Farm Management Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames on April 21, 2015. Members of the first place team included: Adam Fliehler, Karl Klocke, Jaxon Goedken, and Spencer Pech. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Rachel Myers.. They will represent Iowa at the National Farm Management Career Development Event in Louisville, Kentucky, in October. The Osage FFA Chapter from Osage was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Matthew Klaes, Joe Malecek, Jared Popp, and Rebekah Sletten. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Richard Schaufler. Spencer Pech, Starmont FFA, Arlington, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition. The St. Ansgar FFA Chapter from St. Ansgar was the winner of the Team Participation Activity.

FFA teams from 83 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Farm Management. The 313 individuals who participated in the event each completed an objective test which had three sections: economic principles, records and analysis, and risk management. All team members worked together to solve a problem related to break even analysis.

Dr. Ron Deiter, Professor of Economics at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, was the Career Development Event coordinator and prepared the test with assistance from Dr. Georgeane Artz, Assistant Professor of Economics.

Recognition and awards for FFA member and chapters include; plaques for the first and second place individual and trophies for the first place individual and teams, Top Ten Rosettes for Teams and Individuals, as well as travel money for the winning chapter to participate in the National FFA CDE. Awards and plaques were sponsored by the Iowa Farm Business Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

<u>Top</u>	<u>10 Teams</u>	<u>Top 10 Individuals</u>
1	Starmont FFA, Arlington	Spencer Pech, Starmont FFA, Arlington
2	Osage FFA, Osage	Matthew Klaes, Osage FFA, Osage
3	West Liberty FFA, West Liberty	Jaxon Goedken, Starmont FFA, Arlington
4	St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar	Rebekah Sletten, Osage FFA, Osage
5	Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe	Matt Kelly, West Liberty FFA, West Liberty
6	Monticello FFA, Monticello	Marjorie Baker, Keota FFA, Keota
7	Keota FFA, Keota	Brooke Sieren, Keota FFA, Keota
8	West Lyon FFA, Inwood	Lauren Groth, St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar
9	Cascade FFA, Cascade	Taylor Reth, Monticello FFA, Monticello
10	Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center	Emma Baker, West Liberty FFA, West Liberty

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (26) Starmont FFA, Arlington Osage FFA, Osage West Liberty FFA, West Liberty St. Ansgar FFA, St. Ansgar Diamond Trail FFA, Monroe Monticello FFA, Monticello Keota FFA, Keota West Lyon FFA, Inwood Cascade FFA, Cascade Guthrie Center Tiger FFA, Guthrie Center Central Lee FFA, Donnellson Riceville FFA, Riceville Newton FFA, Newton Denison FFA, Denison Humboldt FFA, Humboldt Oelwein FFA, Oelwein MVAO FFA Chapter, Mapleton Gilbert FFA, Gilbert Rock Valley FFA, Rock Valley Lone Tree FFA, Lone Tree Algona FFA, Algona Earlham FFA, Earlham Northeast FFA, Goose Lake Audubon FFA, Audubon Vinton-Shellsburg FFA, Vinton Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon

Bronze Teams (27)

Hudson FFA, Hudson Chariton FFA, Chariton Nashua Plainfield FFA, Nashua North Polk FFA, Alleman Alburnett FFA, Alburnett Newell-Fonda FFA, Newell Carroll Area FFA, Carroll Grundy Center FFA, Grundy Center Brokaw FFA, Clarinda AGWSR FFA, Ackley Atlantic FFA, Atlantic Wayne FFA, Corydon Williamsburg FFA, Williamsburg Adair-Casey FFA, Adair Mount Ayr FFA, Mount Ayr North Fayette Valley FFA, West Union

Silver Teams (32) Spirit Lake FFA , Spirit Lake East Sac FFA, Lake View South O'Brien FFA @ Paullina New Hampton FFA, New Hampton LeMars FFA Chapter, LeMars Holland FFA, Orange City South Central Calhoun FFA, Lake City Crestwood FFA, Cresco Harlan FFA, Harlan Rockford FFA, Rockford Waverly-Shell Rock FFA, Waverly Creston FFA, Creston Emmetsburg FFA, Emmetsburg Manson-Northwest Webster FFA, Manson Orient-Macksburg FFA, Orient Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls Roland-Story FFA, Story City Sheldon FFA, Sheldon Interstate 35 FFA, Truro Linn-Mar FFA, Marion North Union FFA, Armstrong Coon Rapids-Bayard FFA, Coon Rapids Bison FFA, Buffalo Center Dallas Center-Grimes FFA, Grimes Albia FFA Chapter, Albia Sigourney FFA, Sigourney Hawkeye FFA, West Bend Panorama FFA, Panora Edgewood-Colesburg FFA, Edgewood Maguoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi Griswold FFA, Griswold

Oskaloosa FFA, Oskaloosa Marengo FFA, Marengo Murray FFA, Murray Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell Lake Mills FFA, Lake Mills West Delaware FFA, Manchester Forest City FFA, Forest City Davis-Rodgers FFA, Shenandoah Decorah FFA, Decorah

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,700 student members as part of 225 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.