

The FFA Mission FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

State of Iowa Department of Education Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education Grimes State Office Building Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147 Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2009 IOWA FFA CHAPTER PROGRAM CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT 81st Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Chapter Program Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 16, 2009. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the North Linn FFA Chapter at Troy Mills. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Tom Murray. The second place chapter for the event was the Brokaw FFA Chapter at Clarinda. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Andrew Johnson.

Chapters participating in this program event had to display information on their Program of Activities (POA). Two members of the chapter had to describe the activities and the accomplishments of their chapter during the 12 months of the event year. This event emphasized group activity and accomplishments, and to recognize cooperative undertakings and leadership, growing out of an organized program in schools and communities. This year's event was sponsored by 4 Seasons Fundraising, through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a

national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership, personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Chapter Program Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s) Jennie Siddell, Griffin Humphreys, and Matt Supple 		Chapter P. O. Troy Mills	Rating Gold
2	Amanda McNees, Nevada Turner, and Chantel King	Clarinda	Gold
3	Ali Ohden, Jake Kent, and LeAnn Schultz	Lake View	Gold
	Megan Bierschenk, Abby Zwanziger, and Chet McGregor	Nashua	Gold
	Liz Sparks, Leah Flaharty, and Keisha Meyer	Graettinger	Silver
	Amber Brown, Michelle Mensing, and Dillon Harry	Orient	Silver
	Hannah Hilsabeck, Heylee Horn, and Melisha Lauer	Winterset	Silver
	Kristine Milbrandt, Becca Siemens, and Brett Stenersen	Buffalo Center	Bronze
	Bailie Bryant, Sasha Rudd, and Tabitha Hasper	Donnellson	Bronze
	Bronya Renfrow, Shane Sanders, and Nicole Cook	Pleasantville	Bronze
	Morgan Merchant, Alisha Knight, and Christian Rich	Vinton	Bronze
	Alyssa Foster, Kayla Amelon, and Lucas Mullen	Wellman	Bronze

#####

Iowa FFA Association -- 5 2009 IOWA FFA CHAPTER EXHIBIT CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

81st Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Chapter Exhibit Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 16, 2009. Forty-nine chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the LaPorte-Dysart FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Louis Beck. The second place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Chapter Exhibit is a Career Development Event that displays information on one chapter project or activity. The information had to include how this one feature of the annual program was organized, conducted and what results were secured. The Chapter Exhibit CDE is sponsored by Ron Borton, through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science, business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership, personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Chapter Exhibit Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Matthew Ollendieck	LaPorte City	Gold
2	Landon Kane and Rachel Kleitsch	Fairbank	Gold
	Chelsey VandenBerg, Anton Kozyryev, Eric Scott, and Ryan	Albia	Gold
	Lennie		
		Coon Rapids	Gold

Justin Tuel

JU	istin Tuel		
	rian West, Eric Lanning, Sean Meyer, Alec Paup, Tyler Pettit, nd Isacc Sedlmayr	Creston	Gold
Μ	larty Cornelius and Andrew Brown	Decorah	Gold
Pa	ayne Blair and Amy Grossman	Glidden	Gold
А	shley Boom, Janae Mogler, and Ruth Feucht	Inwood	Gold
С	eara Vanlangen and Cassie Vold	Jewell	Gold
Sa	arah King and Kristin Fertig	Lake View	Gold
А	bby Zwanziger, Alli Zwanziger, and Megan Bierschenk	Nashua	Gold
D	ani McLaughlin, Lindsey Petersen, and Emily Fjone	Sheffield	Gold
K	elby Robb, Emily Olson, and Mattison Walker	Vinton	Gold
B	rittnee Stumpf and Zac Eash	Wellman	Gold
D	irk Wieneke, Greg Wall, and Kathleen Ward	West Branch	Gold
	acie Miller, Kelsey Pestka, Mark Petersen, Lacie Potter, revor Greenfield, and Ryan Andresen	Wyoming	Gold
Μ	lichael Tapper and Heather Barcus	Alleman	Silver
	lake Anderson, Lindsey Bohanan, Jenny Gray, and Erin ucker	Corning	Silver
	enna McConohy, Shanna Spies, Eleni Boesch, Karen Thitman, Lauren Weirup, and Caleb Beer	DeWitt	Silver
Je	essica Westfall, Bailie Hamner, and Alicia Peterson	Donnellson	Silver
С	arrie Goossen, Kevin Anderson, and Andrew Schmidt	Gilbert	Silver
Je	nnifer Winch, Ethan Zuercher, Jill Hefel, and Colten Bries	Guttenberg	Silver
L	aura Husmann and Devin Rohwedder	Olin	Silver
А	lex Ahders, Jeff Gacke, Tyler Hofer, and Caleb Montag	Rock Rapids	Silver
Je	enni De Ruyter, Rayna Claussen, and Brittany Van Den Top	Rock Valley	Silver
А	J Weg, Brad Alexander, and Jessica Nasers	Sibley	Silver
	essica McEvoy, Mike Meisheid, Tyler Vavricek, and Brandy umbach	Troy Mills	Silver
K	andis Bieber and Zach Walker	Anamosa	Bronze
	ordan Moorman, Shelby Crow, Nathan Walker, and Tristyn roup	Centerville	Bronze
Ja	cob Caryl, Neill Dunlap, Victor Meeker, and Kolin Schmidt	Central City	Bronze
Μ	lichelle Smuck and Kristen Williams	Eldora	Bronze
E	lizabeth Franzen	Elgin	Bronze
	ustin Ackerman, Brandon Deboer, Dana Hansmann, Kathryn osenboom, Krista Johnson, and Kyle Mccomas	George	Bronze

Cydney Robinson, Keisha Meyer, Kelsey Mortenson, Kayla Smith, Phillip Schmitt, and Dillon Thiner	Graettinger	Bronze
Molly Bomgaars, Alex DeBruin, Ben Habbinga, Joey Meyer, Josh Mouw, Eric Schafer, and Alex Van Den Top	Hull	Bronze
Cody Herold and Kendra McCuen	Indianola	Bronze
Ross Williams and James Everson	Knoxville	Bronze
Kayla Hatfield, Sara Lincoln, Taylor Smith, and Brittini Petty	Leon	Bronze
Anne Drogell	Marion	Bronze
Kelsey Lang and Darren Struthers	Maxwell	Bronze
Alexis Hanselman and Annie Wanders	New Sharon	Bronze
Morgan Glaspie, Steven Black, Audrey Shaull, and Ryan Faas	North English	Bronze
Elizabeth Hoyt and Kaitlyn Friday	Pleasantville	Bronze
Lydia Parcher, Nicholas Salisbury, and Brent Nauman	Rockford	Bronze
Nathan Kerns and Lucas Whitt	Sloan	Bronze
Andy Schanbacher	Van Horne	Bronze
Mackinzie Adrian, Molly Randall, and Makenzie Martin	Washington	Bronze
Morgan Mahoney and Abby Myers	Waukon	Bronze
Gage Kensler and Amanda Folkmann	Marengo	Participation

#####