Iowa FFA Association



The FFA Mission FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education.

State of Iowa Department of Education Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education Grimes State Office Building Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147 Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

> **NEWS RELEASE** For Immediate Release

2010 IOWA FFA CONDUCT OF MEETINGS CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT 82 nd Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 15, 2010. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Maquoketa FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Gary Bruns and Ms. Jennifer Nabb. The second place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Teams participating in this event were composed of seven members organized to act out the duties of an officer team. Teams were required to demonstrate opening ceremonies, act out two parliamentary procedure abilities, and successfully close a meeting. This event aids in the development of leadership abilities of young members for present and future chapter activities. The Montezuma FFA Chapter, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science,

business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for

students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive

difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal

growth and career success through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Conduct of Meetings Leadership Event.

Place	e FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Bailey Miller, Elizabeth Tabor, Ashley Quinlan, Alissa Root, Emily Denger, Ellie Bullock, and Sierra Rauch	Maquoketa	Gold
2	Mitchell Boevers, Danielle Gordon, Gabby Wittenburg, Kylee Price, Christy Neil, Jessie Erhardt, and Heather Sommerfeldt	Fairbank	Gold
3	Kyzer Moore, Laura Kurth, Makenzie Toenjes, Emily Feldmann, Mckenzie Machart, Taylor Arensdorf, and Felicia	Anamosa	Gold
4	Brad Pickhinke, Derek Potthoff, Hope Brotherson, Brayton Grote, Morgan Olhausen, Tayler Schmidt, and Kurt Fertig	Lake View	Gold
	Chet Willer, Dominick Foley, Kellie O'Byrne, Laura Tentinger, Nick McLauglin, Adam Kroksh, and Cole Oltmanns	Akron	Silver
	Tyler Johannsen, Anna Hastert, Joey Koke, Evan Schaben, Derek Andersen, Jackson Keane, and Nick Kornishuck	Harlan	Silver
	Colin Johnson, Justin Bahr, Fenton Nelsen, Amy Monroe, Jared Richtsmeier, Koddy Hildreth, and Murphy Wiese	Iowa Falls	Silver
	Tyler Swenson, Zach Gibson, Halley Ogan, Sage Comstock, Carly Steele, Norman Martin, and Eric Osborn	Montezuma	Silver
	Colin Barker, Leigh Marzen, Jesse Klaes, Matthew Mack, Derek Counsell, Lakota Kirst, and Tyler Havel	Osage	Silver
	Ryan Reimers, Josie McMinemee, Kristin Marten, Timothy Riessen, Dalton Miller, Trevor Renner, and Thomas Pauley	Denison	Bronze
	Kimberly Eddy, Jennifer Brandt, Nicole Clark, Chris Allen, Kristin Pollard, Mallory Bakley, and Austin Taylor	Osceola	Bronze
	Zach Moss, Hannah Murphy, Montana Benge, Jared Patience, Nikki Horn, C J Caudle, and Amanda Baumgartner	Winterset	Bronze