

## **Iowa FFA Association**

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth**, and **career success** through agricultural education.

State of Iowa
Department of Education
Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147

Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

**NEWS RELEASE** 

For Immediate Release

## 2010 IOWA FFA EXPERIENCE THE ACTION CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

82 nd Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Experience the Action Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 15, 2010. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the North Linn FFA Chapter at Troy Mills. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Tom Murray. The second place chapter for the event was the Nashua-Plainfield FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Ron Zelle.

Team members developed enthusiastic presentations that marketed Agricultural Education and FFA. This program serves to inform and educate the general public regarding the benefits and activities of Ag Ed/FFA programs. MinnTex Citrus – Iowa, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science,

## Iowa FFA Association -- 2

business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Experience the Action Leadership Event.

Place	FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Griffin Humphreys, Brendan Schott, Jennie Siddell, and Matt Supple	Troy Mills	Gold
2	Cole Smith, Kelly Bierschenk, Griffin Poppe, Zach Holthaus, and Caleb Smith	Nashua	Gold
3	Randi Koehler, Nicole Schubert, Sydney Schmidt, Bethany Schriever, and Abby Deetz	Rockford	Gold
	Albert Aguirre, Taylor Griem, Jenna McConohy, Erin Weirup, and Nick McClimon	DeWitt	Gold
	Carol Daniels and Frank Laverty	Estherville	Silver
	Chloe Westphal, Katlin Hardeman, Amber Muntz, and Crystal Havel	Grinnell	Silver
	Allison Leinen, Bailey Nielsen, Brian Schechinger, Josh Bruck, and Austin Cuddie-Hudson	Harlan	Silver
	Lexie Cook, Jay Highland, LeAnn Schultz, Austin Steinkamp, and Aaron Timm	Lake View	Silver
	Brittney Bradley, Jenna Capper, Kelsey Root, Amanda Davenport, and Amanda Richmond	Tripoli	Silver
	Sarah Altenhofen, Jared Gent, Kyle Mullet, Jessica Schrock, and Tommy Stumpf	Wellman	Silver
	Dyllan Lawson, Colton Probasco, and Chase Kirby	Moulton	Bronze
	Lindsey Downing, Regina Hafner, Logan Christofferson, and Bailey Stepanek	Panora	Bronze