

Iowa FFA Association

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth**, and **career success** through agricultural education.

State of Iowa
Department of Education
Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147

Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

2011 IOWA FFA EXPERIENCE THE ACTION CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

83rd Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Experience the Action Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 14, 2011. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the North Linn FFA Chapter at Troy Mills. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Tom Murray. The second place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Team members developed enthusiastic presentations that marketed Agricultural Education and FFA. This program serves to inform and educate the general public regarding the benefits and activities of Ag Ed/FFA programs. MinnTex Citrus – Iowa, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science,

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Experience the Action Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Nich Aberle, Matt Goode, Allison Kula, and Elizabeth Walling	Troy Mills	Gold
2	Jessie Erhardt, Leah Galleger, Jared Joerger, Hallee Wiersma, and Mara Huebner	Fairbank	Gold
3	Kendra Keitzer, Kori McLaughlin, Rory Wagenbach, Jaci Steffener, and Haley Hillyard	Mediapolis	Gold
	Courtney Clawson, Katelyn McMurray, Megan Pieters, and Ashley Brandt	Ackley	Silver
	Minden Brix, Thomas Devine, Taylor Peterson, Megan Gettys, and Drake Nielsen	Harlan	Silver
	Kendra Core, Jake Mrzena, Trenton Cheers, Alex Catron, and Jared McClannahan	Indianola	Silver
	Craig Blass, Kyle Peters, Holly Nuetzman, Kyle Obmann, and Mitchell Stark	Lake View	Silver
	Zach Woodman, Kelsey Peters, Drew Dietz, Kyle Franzen, and Tyler Franzen	Nashua	Silver
	Zeb Fisher, Tayler Foster, Michelle Flanegan, Chrissy Cook, and Alisa Adrian	Wellman	Silver
	Evan Elderkin, Nikki Horn, Mekayla Kirk, Jon Wright, and Elizabeth Scott	Winterset	Silver
	Ryan Knobbe, Reed Knobbe, Jamie Pudenz, Shannon Kennebeck, and Miriah Masching	Carroll	Bronze
	Mackenzie Schindler, Shannon Michelson, Morgan Klaassen, Devan Vander Veen, and Christian Storey	Sibley	Bronze