

## **Iowa FFA Association**

The FFA Mission

FFA makes a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth**, and **career success** through agricultural education.

State of Iowa
Department of Education
Bureau of Technical & Vocational Education
Grimes State Office Building
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0147

Contact: Alan Spencer (515.281.4706)

**NEWS RELEASE** 

For Immediate Release

## 2011 IOWA FFA PARLIAMENTARY PROCEDURE CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

83rd Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

The Iowa FFA Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Event was held at the Events Center, Des Moines, on Thursday, April 14, 2011. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event. The first place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese. The second place chapter for the event was the Osage FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Richard Schaufler.

Teams participating in this event were composed of five members organized to chair and act out parliamentary procedures. This event provides trained officers and informed members on the correct conduct of organization affairs with training in democratic affairs. The Maquoketa FFA Alumni Affiliate, through the Iowa FFA Foundation, sponsored this year's event.

The Iowa FFA Association has 221 local chapters with over 12,000 FFA members. FFA is a national organization of more than 500,000 members preparing for leadership and careers in science,

## Iowa FFA Association -- 2

business and technology of agriculture. Local, state and national programs provide opportunities for students to apply knowledge and skills learned in the classroom. FFA's mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for **premier leadership**, **personal growth and career success** through agricultural education.

Listed below are the results for the Parliamentary Procedure Leadership Event.

Place FFA Member Name(s)  1 Danielle Gordon, Christy Neil, Gabby Wittenburg, Kylee Price,		<b>Chapter P. O.</b> Fairbank	<b>Rating</b> Gold
-	and Abrah Meyer	2 442 0 4422	0.010
2	Jesse Klaes, Lakota Kirst, Colin Barker, Derek Counsell, and Tyler Havel	Osage	Gold
3	Rachel Jellings, John Lauer, Kayla Lueder, Tony Moellers, and Molly Schmitt	West Union	Gold
4	Marissa Anderson, Leah Barr, Matt Barr, Reagan Johnson, and Nathan Cabbage	Clarinda	Gold
5	Jessie Gerdes, Sommer Beland, Cylea Ahlf, Maaike Hendrikson, and Heather Keech	St. Ansgar	Gold
6	Makenzie Jensen, Amanda Ratliff, Megan Paris, Paige Reck, and Anna Haselhuhn	Eddyville	Gold
	Dylan Berkey, Austin Poulter, Chase Russell, Brian Clymer, and Steven Weber	Colfax	Silver
	Eric Weirup, Chas Cahill, Heidi Andresen, Emily Kremer, and Caleb Beer	DeWitt	Silver
	Hannah Hoogendoorn, Blain Knobloch, Jacob Meyer, Lynelle Mogler, and Chad Knoblock	Inwood	Silver
	Mat Dischler, Andrew Vanhulzen, Brett Nicholson, Jacob West, and Justin Hammen	Rockwell City	Silver
	Savanah Farrell, Alyssa Brommel, Rachel Brownlee, Maddie Beeler, and Jordan Schultz	Truro	Silver
	Ryan Reimers, Josie McMinemee, Timothy Riessen, Taylor Clinton, and Kristin Marten	Denison	Bronze