

News Release

2016 IOWA FFA CHAPTER PROGRAM CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Chapter Program Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Twelve Chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the North Linn FFA Chapter at Troy Mills. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Tom Murray. The second place chapter for the event was the Decorah FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Ms. Joni Bruvold and Mr. Rick Twedt.

Chapters participating in this event had to display information on their Program of Activities (POA). Up to three members of the chapter present the activities and the accomplishments of their chapter during the 12 months of the event year. This event emphasized group activity and accomplishments, and to recognize cooperative undertakings and leadership, growing out of an organized program in schools and communities. The Iowa FFA Chapter Program CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa FFA Alumni Association through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Chapter Program CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Cassie Rawson, Mandy Rawson, and Kiersten Bean	Troy Mills	Gold
2	Hannah Sikkink, Ashley Schwartzhoff, and Kenzie Hovden	Decorah	Gold
3	Skie Campbell, Madalynne Gray, and Chandler Strough	Clarinda	Gold
	Justin Bartling, Madison Van Heiden, and Levi Stockdale	Ackley	Silver
	Colton Anderson, Kaitlyn Nordhoff, and Tacie Overturf	Boone	Silver
	Allison Brisby, Emma Newberry, and Ethan Faeth	Donnellson	Silver
	Claire Jager and Briana VerSteegh	Eddyville	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Kenzie Mumm, Jamie Schechinger, and Madelyn Bak	Harlan	Silver
Katie Catron, Connor Davidson, and Christian Laughman	Indianola	Silver
Emily Scott, Alli Crump, and Hannah Degner	Lake View	Silver
Taylor Sorrells, Paige Parsons, and Jordan Moreland	Creston	Bronze
Staci Nims, Brandy Anderson, and Sydney Vanderhoff	Sioux Rapids	Bronze