

News Release

DENISON FFA WINS IOWA FFA VETERINARY SCIENCE CDE

The Denison FFA Chapter from Denison was named the Champion Team in the annual Iowa FFA Veterinary Science Career Development Event held at Iowa State University in Ames in Iowa State University, Ames on June 9, 2016. Members of the first place team included: Emily Boettger, Morgan Fink, Hannah Holdsworth, and Jessica Meseck. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Ms. Dana Weeda, Ms. Alise Meyers, and Mr. Tim Baughman. They will represent Iowa at the National Veterinary Science Career Development Event at Indianapolis, Indiana, in October. The Little Switzerland FFA Chapter from Waukon was named the Reserve Champion Team. Members of the second place team included: Carmen Wille, Erika Johnson, Dani Stock, and Molly Brodahl. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Jessica O'Connor. Kalyn Howe, Tipton FFA, Tipton, was named the High Individual Overall in the competition.

FFA teams from 13 chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event designed to provide the student an opportunity to display their agricultural knowledge and skills in the area of Veterinary Science. The 51 individuals who completed a general knowledge examination focusing on veterinary science. The team members also prepared a video focusing on proper veterinary clinical practices.

The Iowa FFA Vet Science CDE was made possible with support from Bomgaars through the Iowa FFA Foundation. Zoetis sponsored the State Winning Team plaque through the National FFA Foundation.

Listed below are the top teams and individuals in the various parts of the career development event.

Top 10 Teams

- 1 Denison FFA, Denison
- 2 Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
- 3 Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa
- 4 Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi
- 5 LaPorte-Dysart FFA, LaPorte City
- 6 New Hampton FFA, New Hampton
- 7 Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis
- 8 Osceola Big Chief FFA, Osceola
- 9 Indianola FFA, Indianola
- 10 Cascade FFA, Cascade

Top 10 Individuals

Kalyn Howe, Tipton FFA, Tipton
Jackson Tubbs, Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa
Jessica Meseck, Denison FFA, Denison
Morgan Fink, Denison FFA, Denison
Carmen Wille, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
Alyssa Jackson, Osceola Big Chief FFA, Osceola
Micaela Steenstra, East Buchanan, Winthrop
Emily Boettger, Denison FFA, Denison
Erika Johnson, Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon
Hannah Holdsworth, Denison FFA, Denison

Specialty Areas -- Top Team/ Top Individual:

Team Clinical Procedure Video

LaPorte-Dysart FFA, LaPorte City

Team Written Scenario Response

New Hampton FFA, New Hampton

General Knowledge Exam

Team: Denison FFA, Denison

Individual: Kalyn Howe, Tipton FFA, Tipton

Below is a list of chapters participating by medal group.

Gold Teams (5)

Score Range (292.5 to 253)

Denison FFA, Denison Little Switzerland FFA, Waukon Maquoketa FFA, Maquoketa Maquoketa Valley FFA @ Delhi LaPorte-Dysart FFA, LaPorte City

Bronze Teams (3)

Score Range (203 to 166)
East Buchanan, Winthrop
Tipton FFA, Tipton
Iowa Falls-Alden FFA, Iowa Falls

Silver Teams (5)

Score Range (247.5 to 217.5)
New Hampton FFA, New Hampton
Mediapolis FFA, Mediapolis
Osceola Big Chief FFA, Osceola
Indianola FFA, Indianola
Cascade FFA, Cascade

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.