

## News Release

## 2018 IOWA FFA CHAPTER PROGRAM CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

90th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Chapter Program Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 23, 2018. Twelve chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the Brokaw FFA Chapter at Clarinda. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Andrew Johnson. The second place chapter for the event was the West Liberty FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructors and FFA advisors are Mr. Zach Morris, Ms. Megan Rauen, and Ms. Michele McMichael.

Chapters participating in this event had to display information on their Program of Activities (POA). Up to three members of the chapter present the activities and the accomplishments of their chapter during the 12 months of the event year. This event emphasized group activity and accomplishments, and to recognize cooperative undertakings and leadership, growing out of an organized program in schools and communities. The Iowa FFA Chapter Program CDE was made possible with support from GROWMARK through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Chapter Program CDE are listed below.

###

## About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 15,300 student members as part of 235 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place	e FFA Member Name(s)	Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Hunter Crawford, Paige Sunderman, and Abbie Guthrie	Clarinda	Gold
2	Elias Rocha, Emma Martin, and Sarah Seele	West Liberty	Gold
3	Tatum Kahler, Callie Halverson, and Joe Boehm	West Union	Gold
	Erika Jeanes, Jacob Joerger, and Mitchel Bartels	Fairbank	Gold

## **Iowa FFA Association -- 2**

Sidney Nelsen and Jack Paulson	Avoca	Silver
Mickayla McGill, Makenzie Varner, and Cole Murphy	Knoxville	Silver
Tessa Geiger, Mya Pargeon, and Katie Probasco	Montezuma	Silver
Lindsay Campbell, Logan Chandler, and Laura Townsend	Newton	Silver
Diana Mulder, Rachel Cline, and Bryce Campbell	Parkersburg	Silver
Makayla Nims, Makayla Bjork, and Emily West	Sioux Rapids	Silver
Kara Weilkens-Reiman, Camber Herrig, and Taylor Houska	Lake View	Bronze
Grace Heimer, Leah Bergerson, and Sydney Patterson	St. Ansgar	Bronze